Real running.

Today went well all the way until the big dents in the pace at 3km, when I got a cramp in the back (the one at 1 km is just a traffic light). But it still felt OK, now I’m finally really running. That means I am limited by the shape I’m in and not some microscopic ligaments in my ankles trying to adapt. Changing form is boring… Can’t believe I found the patience to go through with it, but I’m glad I did.

Today I just put the foot down relaxed in a neutral position, and ran. No thinking about how the foot lands, or how the legs moved at all. Kept my focus on trying to relax the shoulders.

It’s like I found a second gear today, how to run easy and relaxed at about 4:30/km pace. I think this might be my ideal race pace. The first couple of km’s felt incredibly light and easy. My slow pace is about 6:00/km. I’ll see if it sticks.

http://runkeeper.com/user/etyrmi/activity/69056920

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Real running.

  1. Glad to hear it is clicking :)

    • tyrmi says:

      Thanks! I had an epiphany today that a relaxed foot is actually in a perfect position to land on the ground, so no need to reach out for it.

      I’ve been reading runningonthewhiteline for a while. Great blog! I’m not a vegetarian myself, but I try to cut down on meat for environmental reasons. Happy running!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

