Garmin Forerunner 305 and Linux

Untitled by etyrmi at Garmin Connect – Details.

Just got my garmin Forerunner 305 to work with Ubuntu 10.04. I hooked it up with connect.garmin.com via the Linux Garmin Communicator Plugin. I had to manually copy the .so file from /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins to home/USERNAME/.mozilla/plugins to get Firefox to find it. (See Debian installation details.) And it works like a charm. I have an idea it would be better to connect to Runkeeper, but for now this seems easier.

My test walk was on a man-made trail, exactly 1750 meters long, and the GPS shows 1.75km, so not too shabby. Judging from the map it was off a couple of times, though the end result was pretty accurate. Please note that I walked the distance, even I don’t run that slow…

EDIT: Worked with runkeeper too. Think I’ll use that in the future.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Garmin Forerunner 305 and Linux

  1. Bronson says:

    Thanks, man. Just what I needed! 😉

  2. TheFellBeast says:

    Worked for me
    😀

  3. Hecke says:

    How did you do the communication to runkeeper?

    • tyrmi says:

      Via Firefox or Chrome, and the Runkeeper webpage. I think the current version works out of the box with Ubuntu.

Leave a Reply

