Blue Jeans DIY

20161013_111028I got my blue rigid denim in the mail, and I’ve started cutting and sewing my jeans. The basic idea is to make Jeans Without Unnecessary Stuff. I’m copying a pair of well fitting 501’s which where covered in paint. I cut them up and copied all the parts. Here’s what I’m omitting from the standard 5 pocket 501 design:

  1. Contrast topstitching
  2. Coin pocket
  3. Yoke

I’m not a denim purist, and in my opinion they still look like jeans, only better. I already have jeans with blue topstiching, but I’m curious about how omitting the yoke will work. What I like most about jeans is the fabric and the pocket design. Chino pockets always spill coins.

I won’t go into detail about the construction, but here are a few links I have watched MANY TIMES.

  1. ki-online.net – “DIY: Instructions for sewing a pair of RAW Denim Jeans. Step by Step and easy to follow tutorial, for Beginners and Megalomaniacs.”
  2. Angela Kane – Sewing blue jeans
  3. Youtube – Paul Kruize – Jeans in progress
  4. Youtube – Roman Lemeschko – Designer jeans men’s style

I’m heavily inspired by the first link. The other are not for aesthetics, but more about learning the techniques. I have discovered that taste and sewing skills are two separate things, and I enjoy videos of good sewers even when they make ugly stuff. Not that any of the jeans in the links are ugly, just generally.

20161017_163109

Is this ugly or beautiful? I walk past it every day, and it always makes me happy and angry at the same time..

Leave a Reply

