H&M jeans, 2007, repaired

Bought some very dark jeans from h&m eight years ago. Have used them a lot for the last two years. They’re not my favourite pair, but they fit me well and I’ve worn them since they were perfectly dark blue. I have repaired the crotch, both front pockets, one back pocket, right thigh, left knee. I am experimenting a bit with mending techniques. One of the great things about sewing is you can always rip it up and try again.

The short rise looks very out of style in 2016, almost like women’s jeans. They used to be straight, but I’ve tapered them. The old look was almost like a slim bootcut, but now they are more like regular 80’s jeans.

Not worth the work I’ve put into it, but I like the fact that they’re so worn out.

Factory distressed jeans look ridiculous to me, and I’ve always felt this way. I bought a pair of designer jeans from the Red Cross thrift store with fake wear on the knees, and I’m going to give them to my brother, because I just can’t wear them.

I’ve ordered some olive colored cotton canvas to make a parka, so someday I will post how that goes.

But first I will post an image of Marty McFly’s inside out jeans. The movie is set in 2015. Somehow that never caught on. Even though G star tried.

Leave a Reply

